Facts about People, Maps, Cities and Countries in Africa

Africa is the 2nd largest continent in the world. It has 54 countries and several territories, as can be seen on the Africa map. The vibrant continent is a land of contrasts.

Nigeria is the richest country in Africa while Somalia, Niger and the Central African Republic are some of the poorest.

Algeria is the largest country in Africa, covering over 2.3 m km2. In contrast, the smallest African nation is Seychelles. The 115 islands that make up Seychelles cover about 458 km2 only.

Facts about People, Maps, Cities and Countries in Africa

Facts about Africa: people, maps, cities and countries in Africa
Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton, Johannesburg, South Africa

Just as there are many countries in Africa, the continent has many cities. The cities in Africa vary in size and population.

Lagos in West Africa has the highest population. The former Nigerian capital is also the biggest city in Africa. But Johannesburg, in South Africa, is the richest city in Africa.

African nations are further divided into provinces, counties and regions.

Kenya, in East Africa, has 47 regions. These are the 47 counties in Kenya. The capital, Nairobi city, is the richest county in Kenya.

The country has many natural resources, especially wildlife and other tourist attractions. The Nairobi national park is one of the major tourist destinations in the world.

How Well Do You Know Africa? Take These Quizzes!

Africa Capitals Quiz
Posted in Africa

Africa Capitals Quiz – Do you know the Capital Cities of all African Countries?

Here is an Africa quiz. The Africa countries quiz is about the capital cities of the 54 countries in Africa….

African flags quiz
Posted in Africa

African Flags Quiz: Can You Identify these African Flags?

African football teams quiz
Posted in Africa

African Football Teams And their Nicknames Quiz

Here is an African football teams and their nicknames quiz. The Africa quiz covers the countries that perform well in…

Frequently asked questions about countries in Africa (FAQ)

Africa is a large continent whose total land area is 30.37 million sq km. The continent is blessed with diverse people, vast deserts and sandy beaches. Africa has lush forests and mountains.

Moreover, there are multiple religions, diverse cultures, many climates and over 1,500 languages that are spoken in Africa.

However, many facts about Africa have been misunderstood - beginning with the fact that Africa is a continent and not a country. Here are some of the most asked questions about Africa and the 54 countries in Africa.

(Click to Expand)

There are 54 countries in Africa. These nations are broadly grouped into 5 regions. The regions in Africa are North, West, Central, East and Southern Africa. In addition to the 54 nations, there are 5 territories in Africa.
Algeria in North Africa is the largest country in Africa by land area. It is closely followed by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sudan and Libya.
Equatorial Guinea is the only Spanish speaking country in Africa. It is a West African nation.
Nigeria in West Africa is the richest country in Africa. However, the richest region of Africa is the North where oil is the main export commodity.
Africa is a continent that is made up of 54 sovereign nations and several territories.
French is mostly spoken in many nations in West, East and Central Africa. French speaking countries in Africa include:
  • Congo DRC
  • Congo-Brazzaville
  • Togo
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Cameroon
  • Guinea
  • Ivory Coast
  • Burundi
  • Niger
  • Mali
  • Burkina Faso
  • Senegal
  • Djibouti
  • Rwanda
  • Madagascar
  • Chad
  • Seychelles
  • Benin
These are the territories and the 54 countries in Africa. There are many nations in the African continent. But despite all the diversity in the huge continent, all Africans are known for their love of traditions and eagerness to welcome visitors.